Skills to pay the bills

I really admire writers who can weave a great story, and who can make their readers feel some emotion! I’m not one of those types but one day I hope my reader can relate to some of the things I write about. So, I have a goal to practice these rusty skills and am dedicating daily time to writing. Ideally I’d love this practice to lead to being someone who gets PAID to write! Not that I don’t love my current profession and I’m happy that it does involve some writing, but I’m really trying to think of a way where I can rent a beach house on the California Coast, write my memoirs for a future iBook and call that my career. Ha!

Latetly, I’ve been obsessively watching Parenthood on Netflix. It’s so easy to get sucked in since episodes “auto start” once one finishes. I could – and often do – find myself watching hours and hours of Netflix. In the back of my mind I want to say f*ck this blog, shut down WordPress and open up Netflix. But I’m stopping myself from acting like an addict.

Parenthood is a really sweet show about three generations of the Braverman family – their hangups, their accomplishments, their downfalls. I suppose I’m really in to the show because it makes me think that this is how a “real” family acts. Not to say that my family isn’t “real” but the camaraderie and the conversation that the Bravermans have is something I feel I’ve never experienced with my family.

Here’s a clip from one of the episodes I recently watched.

And, here’s an obligatory photo of my cat, Beaches el Gato.

IMG_2264-0.JPG

My writing skills are rushed and sloppy. Perhaps, dear reader, you’re not into my style or my topics. But I hope you’ll at least return for more of Beaches el Gato and other random photos! Now, leave me be as I’m off to watch Parenthood.

Leave a comment